In Europe.

In Europe

There are 300 national minorities in Europe. Every seventh European belongs to a minority or speaks one of the over 60 minority languages. 

Along with over 100 organisations from 35 European countries, the SSF is member of the Federal Union of European Nationalities – FUEN. 

Its aim is to maintain and promote the identity, language, culture and equal rights of the minorities in Europe. 

FUEN has its headquarter in Flensburg. The research institute European Centre for Minority Issues is also based in Flensburg. 

Not only the SSF but also The Danish School Association for South Schleswig, The Federation of Danish Youth Organisations, the SSW and the newspaper Flensborg Avis take part in European cooperation through various bodies.